“Wayward Sisters” actress Clark Backo chats about warm welcome to the set

Clark Backo has joined the cast of the hot new “Supernatural” spin-off “Wayward Sisters” and she has a lot to say. The lovely and talented actress is also known for her role as Ava in “Designated Survivor,” and Rosie in “Wynonna Earp,” and Emma in “21 Thunder.” Backo plays the role of Patience Turner, the granddaughter of Missouri Moseley and brings her inherited physic powers to the team. Read about how she was welcomed to the set and find out who her favorite superheroes are.

Actress Clark Backo. Photo courtesy of Andre Widjaja

Nerd Alert News: First off, welcome to the “Supernatural” family with your role as Patience Turner. What are you allowed to share about your character?

Clark Backo: Probably not as much as you’d like. Haha. But, I can say that Patience is a smart girl who is strong, extremely driven, and doesn’t give up. She will not disappoint.

NAN: How were you welcomed to the set of “Supernatural,” and how has it been so far?

CB: Well, I will start off by saying that I still get extremely nervous every time I start a new project. It feels like the first day of school every single time. Will they like me? Who will I talk to? Will I make friends? And so on…into the land of faux-anxiety. And there is something even more daunting about walking onto a set that has been going on for 13 years. So, yeah, nervous was a bit of an understatement. But then I met Kim Rhodes. Before I could even say hi she had me in the warmest hug a new-girl could ever hope for. And that’s really how being welcomed to the set of “Supernatural” felt in general – a warm hug.

And not to toot my own horn, but I think I’ve quickly become a part of this wonderfully dysfunctional family (toot, toot). Every day on set challenges me to see how long I can go without laughing. So far it’s been a riot.

Actress Clark Backo. Photo courtesy of Andre Widjaja

NAN: Tell your fans about the short film “Going In.”

CB: “Going In” is a proof of concept film for an upcoming feature in development. Set in 1989 Toronto, it’s a stylized action/thriller from director, and friend, Evan Rissi. I play a femme fatale of sorts. It’s everything you love about 80’s movies and it’s also everything I love about what is coming out of Canadian film these days. It’s really exciting. Watch the short to get a better idea of what’s coming in 2018!

NAN: How did you catch the acting bug? Did you start out as an actor or model or…?

CB: I got scouted in Toronto to model when I was 16-17. And although I had fun (once I figured out what the heck I was doing). It wasn’t until I started booking commercials that I was like, “Oooooh, there’s way more to this than just posing and looking bored or smiling on demand.” So, I’d say I got a taste for the acting bug through commercials. Of course, that wasn’t even close to enough to satisfy whatever had awoken in me. When I was 18 I enrolled in acting classes, but it took a year or more for me to find the right class, take it seriously, and let down my guard to truly explore the craft. Now I have the storytelling bug, and it is the most phenomenal journey. Acting allows you to understand the heart of another person, and through each character you take on, you evolve as a human being – it really teaches empathy. The only downside is I cry a lot now. Like, a lot.

NAN: Let’s get to know you through a set of speed-round questions.

1.) Who’s on your favorite playlist right now?
Daniel Caesar, H.E.R., SZA, and Rihanna (always Rihanna).

2.) Favorite superhero?
Favorite superhero is Storm. Favorite anti-hero is “Tank Girl.” And let’s raise a fist to all the moms around the world for being the strongest superheroes of all time (love you ma).

3.) What is your go-to comfort food?
Man, the list goes on… But if I must narrow it down: Grand Electric tacos or a junior chicken with a medium fry and snack-size Oreo McFlurry.

Leave a Reply

