Get to know ‘Supernatural’ guest actress Maddie Phillips

Actress Maddie Phillips, photo courtesy of Jessica Dawn
Actress Maddie Phillips, photo credit to Jessica Dawn

Talented actress Maddie Phillips has made a name for herself with roles in “Supernatural” and “Project Mc²”, “The Crossing,” and will soon be seen in Syfy’s new series “Ghost Wars.” Until the age of ten, she lived in Vancouver, BC before moving to Perth, Australia where she studied theater. Maddie can tell you anything and everything about “Harry Potter,” loves music, and has a promising career ahead of her.

Colleen Bement: What can you share about your latest projects?

Maddie Phillips: I’m currently working on a new show for Syfy called “Ghost Wars” created by Simon Barry and it’s honestly been a dream come true. I can’t shut up about it. It takes place in a remote Alaskan town that’s become overrun by paranormal forces. It stars Vincent D’onofrio, Kim Coates, Avan Jogia and Meatloaf. It’s seriously the biggest thrill to work with such experienced and passionate people. Earlier this year I worked on the pilot for ABC’s “The Crossing” (which anyone who loved watching “Lost” will enjoy), and then I got to be a secret agent with a giant blue wig on “Project Mc².” It was so much fun; I honestly think I’ll dye my hair blue down the road now.

CB: You were in a season 10 episode of “Supernatural” and my readers would just love to hear any stories that you might have from the set.
MP: Booking this was so exciting. As most actors in Vancouver will tell you, being on the show is kind of a rite of passage for us. Jared and Jensen are everything you’d expect them to be, in the best way. You’d think they would be kinda over it by now after more than a decade of seasons ha-ha, but those guys were so bubbly and friendly, and such pros. They would often play around with a funny line together between takes, and a couple minutes later come out with an even funnier one that would get used instead.

CB: Do you have plans to branch out into writing or directing?

MP: I would love those things in my future. However, in saying that the amount of patience, drive, and dedication needed to be either of those is so mind blowing. I can almost hear the snorts of all the writers and directors out there whenever they hear actors saying casually that they might direct one day. So ideally, I’d love to branch out into those territories, but for the moment my plans are to just keep pounding the pavement, doing work I’m proud of and learning as much as possible.

CB: Do you have any hidden talents?

MP: Ask me anything to do with “Harry Potter” and I’ll know the answer.

Maddie Phillips, photo courtesy of David Salandanan
Actress Maddie Phillips, photo courtesy of David Salandanan

CB: Let’s get to know you even better with some quick answer questions:

  • What are some of the bands on your music playlist right now? My boyfriends’ band ‘Hawking‘ just released their new album that I’ve honestly had on repeat for the last couple months. I was actually in their music video for their single ‘Comfortable’ which you can find on YouTube. I’m also really into Polyphia, PVRIS, Frank Ocean and Kat Dahlia.

 

  • What actress inspired you? I’ve been inspired by so many different actresses for so many different reasons. Natalie Portman is one example. I was 12 when I saw “V for Vendetta” and I had never been more affected by a performer’s dedication. She was like a walking raw wound. Angelina Jolie’s performances in “Gia” and “Girl, Interrupted” were extremely inspiring too, so haunting and raw without being self-indulgent. I’m also inspired by Winona Ryder’s choices of projects. I still can’t believe the amazingly quirky little girl in “Beetlejuice” grew up to be Jo from “Little Women.” Oh, and I need to mention Kat Graham. That woman is so good in “Vampire Diaries” she makes me sob into my chocolate and popcorn and forget it’s a show for teenagers about sexy dead people (no shade).

 

  • Are you a fan of sci-fi? If so, what are some of your favorite TV shows? I wouldn’t say that I’m a sci-fi fan, but only because I’m aware of the intensity of the sci-fi fandom; I haven’t earned that title ha-ha. For example, I haven’t seen any of the “Star Wars” movies (please don’t hate me), and the only thing I know about “Star Trek” is that they do that weird thing with their hands. I really liked “Continuum” and, “Stranger Things” (naturally) and I think “The 100” has some of the best acting on the CW right now. I’m preeeetty sure “Ghost Wars” will become a new favorite once it airs. Not that I’m biased or anything.
Leave a Reply

