Interview with talented and engaging actress Fiona Vroom

Fiona Vroom has made a name for herself by bringing some very cool characters to life. She is the talented and beautiful actress known for her roles in the recent “Power Rangers” film opposite Elizabeth Banks, “Man in the High Castle,” and recurring on “Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency.” Born in Vancouver, British Columbia, this actress, singer, and dancer can boast Leo Award and Canadian Screen Award nominations. Fiona will soon be seen in the hot upcoming Netflix series “Altered Carbon.”

Actress Fiona Vroom, photo courtesy of Chelsea Roisum Photography

Colleen Bement: “Power Rangers” was so popular. What can you share about your experience on the set?

Fiona Vroom: It was one of the BEST experiences of my life. There was a huge explosion in the scene I shot with Rita – Elizabeth Banks. We rehearsed it with the camera crew and special effects guys for almost the entire day. When we finally shot the scene with the camera rolling, and action was called, everything around me was blowing up for real, and my heart was pounding so hard. We nailed it the first take. I remember watching the play back around the monitor with Dean, the director, and Elizabeth, and there were smiles all around. It was an amazing moment to be part of.

CB: What are you allowed to share about your starring role in the short film “Meridian” and TV movie “Psycho Wedding Crasher?”

FV: “Meridian” is about a bunch of grad students that do into the desert to test out a time machine. It was an amazing shoot. We shot on location, in BC’s desert. It was hot and dry! Two things I’m not very accustomed to, being from Vancouver.
“Psycho Wedding Crasher” will be coming out later this year. I co-star with Heather Morris from Glee. We hit it off right away because we are both dancers. She was a gem to work with.

CB: “Moonlight in Vermont” was such a romantic movie. Are you a romantic at heart?
FV: I’m a total romantic fool actually. I love falling in love. Romantic comedies are my favorite movies. Life wouldn’t exist without love. It’s all that matters.

Fiona Vroom 2016 280

CB: You played the role of Vicki Monroe in season three and four of “Bates Motel.” What was it like to be a part of one of the most brilliant shows on TV?

FV: From the moment I walked into the hair and makeup trailer, and Vera came right up to me, shook my hand, and looked me in the eye and said, “Thank you for being part of our show” I knew this experience was going to be different than any other. This set was like being wrapped up in a cozy blanket. It was saturated with amazing people. Nestor is still, to this day, the best scene partner I’ve ever had. Freddie and Vera will stay with you every single moment of the scene, on and off camera. I’m very grateful to have had that education. I’ll never forget it.

CB: You were once on “Supernatural” many moons ago. Was the set as wonderful to be on as everyone says?

FV: That was a long time ago, and I was very green, but I must have done something right, because I auditioned for another part, just this past season, and the Executive Producer called me personally to tell me he loved my audition, but he was sorry that the part got cut. He didn’t want me to take it personally. So yes! I would have to say I was very impressed by the kindness he showed me. That doesn’t happen very often in this business.

One thought on “Interview with talented and engaging actress Fiona Vroom

Leave a Reply

