‘Star Trek Voyager’s Garrett Wang swaps stories at Galaxyfest

Super Dave Raines and The Big Show joined forces with Nerd Alert News to bring fans an interview with Garrett Wang direct from the Galaxyfest convention. The popular multi-genre con took place in Colorado Springs, CO Feb. 24-26, 2017, and Ensign Harry Kim from “Star Trek: Voyager” himself took time out to share stories. Wang was a busy man that weekend with his duties of Celebrity Director and Master of Ceremonies, along with meeting all his enthusiastic fans.

 

SD & CB: Tell us about being a fixture in the “Star Trek” universe.

GW: It’s an honor. When you think about it, it’s such a small fraternity of actors that can say they were serious regulars on a “Star Trek” television series. If I count it, it’s like about 40 actors, and it’s really nice to be part of that group. To be able to play a role in a science fiction series as well-known as “Star Trek,” it’s like a dream come true.

SD & CB: Are you surprised at how much the fans know about “Star Trek?”

GW: No, it never surprises me. I feel proud to be a part of the franchise and it makes me smile with I come across fans that can bring up very minute details. I remember when AOL first came out and there were chat rooms. I was in the “Star Trek” chat room, and I’m talking and everything and someone goes how come you know so much about that, and I go because I’m the actor from “Voyager,” and all the other people in the room are going you’re lying, man! I said ask me anything. Someone asked me how many cc’s of Cordrazine did the doctor use in the pilot episode of “Voyager,” and I said hold on, lemme go get my script. And finally, I answer 20. And the guy goes TOO LONG. You took too long to answer. I assure you it was me!

 

SD & CB: Have you met Chris Pine and other Trek actors?

GW: I haven’t met Chris Pine, but I know John Cho because he’s an Asian actor, and as an Asian actor you know all the other Asian actors (laughs). My sister refers to him as the Asian Matthew Perry. It’s true. You can look at every ethnic group and say that there’s a guy who looks like someone else that’s white. I think Yao Ming, the basketball player, is the Chinese Tom Brady. If you look at them, they have very similar square faces.

SD & CB: What do you think about the new series “Star Trek Discovery?”

GW: I’m looking forward to it. I’m a little nervous because Brian Fuller was the executive producer, but then he backed out due to some type of disagreement or something, and I love Brian Fuller, so hopefully it’ll turn out OK.

Super Dave and Colleen Bement: Thanks for being here. Why do you do smaller cons?

Garrett Wang: I’ve done conventions all around the world, and I’ve done conventions with 100,000 people, and to be honest, people say why do you come to smaller conventions? It’s because it’s nice to have a change of pace. Sometimes when you’re in the larger conventions, you don’t even have time to breathe.

SD & CB: What’s up after this for you?

GW: Calgary Expo. That’s a big one. 115,000 people.

Leave a Reply

