Interview with ‘My Little Pony’ famed actress Nicole Oliver

Known throughout the “My Little Pony” world as Princess Celestia and Cheerilee on “My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic” and recently from Seth Rogan’s “Sausage Party,” award-winning veteran actress Nicole Oliver has a filmography that runs off the page. She can be spotted playing the powerful stage mother Lynn Spears in the upcoming Lifetime movie “Britney Ever After.” The Ottawa, Ontario born performer also has a role in the upcoming feature film “Wonder” starring Julia Roberts and Jacob Tremblay, and a lead role in the indie film “Marrying the Family.” Get to know Nicole Oliver and check out “Britney Ever After” that premieres Sat. Feb. 18 at 8pm ET/PT.

PS_10042016_JB_0051 (1).jpg

Colleen Bement: You play the role of Lynne Spears in the upcoming film “Britney Ever After.” What can you share about making this film?

Nicole Oliver: So may stories I could tell. I think one of the most beautiful things about this project was the number of women in lead positions; both in front of and behind the camera. From our producers to our fearless director, Leslie Libman, to various department heads including our amazing “A” camera operator, Catherine Malette, it was a pleasure to be a part of a female-driven story touched by so many talented and thoughtful artists.

I think it’s a real privilege to be part of a “true” story and to be tasked with portraying a real person. “Britney Ever After” is the story of a woman’s rise and fall and her triumphant come back. Britney has had a spectacular career, and many of her songs have been a part of the soundtrack of my life over the years. As a mother, I related to Lynne Spears love for her daughter, her ferocity surrounding wanting what’s best for her children and trying to do what’s in the best interest of her family. The entertainment business is a seductive beast, and few are truly prepared for all of the ups and downs and potential pitfalls that accompany fast fame and the loss of your private self to a (generally) adoring fandom. As a mother of two boys myself, I know I always try to do what’s best, however, sometimes I make mistakes. We all do. I think what is interesting is how we recover from those mistakes, and use them to strengthen our sense of self and choices we make in the future.

CB: What is it like to be a part of the amazing “My Little Pony” community of fans?

NO: “The My Little Pony” community and the Brony fandom hold a very dear and important place in my heart. I LOVE the sense of community, acceptance, artistic inspiration and charity the show has inspired in others. It is truly humbling to have something you are a part of impact people. When people say “The show made me realize…” or “Your character inspired me to…” it is mind-blowing. But, while something I am a part of may have been a catalyst to creativity or an even deeper, personal, change, all of those people were brave enough to try something new, make a change, and then share their story as inspiration for and to others. I always say the world can use more rainbows and unicorns, and I am thrilled to be a small part of the positive footprint the show inspires.

823
Actress Nicole Oliver. Photo courtesy of The Promotion People

CB:Sausage Party” was absolutely hilarious, and fans loved you as Sally Bun, Ice Cream, and Watermelon. How fun was it to make this movie?

NO: What do you think? “Sausage Party” was one of those pinch me moments in my career. It was tons of fun to record our parts and add another layer of (dirty) hilarity (hopefully) to the picture. Animation is truly a beautiful art form, and I especially loved how unassuming the movie appeared at first glance–until the characters opened their mouth and perhaps a little more, um, colorful language then we are used to hearing in cartoons, came flying out of their mouths! It was an epic cast full of comedic brilliance. I mean, Kirsten Wiig? Love her commitment and bravery with all of her performances.

CB: What a career! Do you have a few roles that really stood out for you?

NO: Wow. Thanks. It’s really difficult to choose a favorite. I met my husband on the movie “The Falling;” he was the film’s composer and my mother, of all people, introduced us at the Toronto Film Festival a gazillion years ago, and now we have been married for almost 16 years and have two beautiful boys, so that’s special for all sorts of obvious reasons.

I think the projects that I really remember are the ones where I met or made friendships and personal connections with the cast and crew that are true to this day. It’s a tough business, so to walk onto a film set, or into a recording studio and see familiar face is a blessing. Even on “Britney Ever After,” I had Natasha Bassett and Nathan Keyes over for Canadian Thanksgiving dinner; and they are welcome back any time!

CB: When you have some spare time, how do you spend it?

NO: Spare time–what’s that? LOL, I love to garden, practice Moksha yoga, play board games with my kids (loving Harry Potter CLUE right now), or binge watch “Game of Thrones.” I am desperately trying to catch up before season seven debuts.

Leave a Reply

