Talented actress Jennifer Cheon chats experience on CW’s ‘Supernatural’

Jennifer Cheon is known for playing powerful and badass characters with roles in CW’s “The 100” and “Arrow,” “Minority Report,” and films such as “Star Trek Beyond.” She will be joining the “Supernatural family” with her part as Ronnie in Feb. 16, 2017 episode ‘Stuck in the Middle (With You)’ and shares her experiences on the set. Read about these stories and how Cheon hopes to be a positive influence on kids growing up.

 

Colleen Bement: My readers would just love to hear all about your experience on the set of ‘Supernatural‘ filming the upcoming episode. What can you share?

Jennifer Cheon: Being on set for “Supernatural” was such a wonderful experience. The show has been on air now for 12 seasons, which is huge. When I got the part, I was so excited that I was going to be a part of a show I sort of grew up with. I remember after high school I was modeling and needed a summer job. My agent at the time told me I should do extra work in-between modeling gigs. One of the first sets I ever worked on was “Supernatural.” I fell in love with the atmosphere on set and told myself one day, I want to be on this show as an actual character. And now years later I got to walk on that set to do what I love to do. Richard Speight was our director for that particular episode, he was so wonderful. The boys Jared and Jensen, along with the rest of the cast, and crew really made sure I felt at home. They have a tight family over there and they all made me feel a part of it. I think the fans of the show will love that episode. I know I can’t wait to see it!

img_9963

Actress Jennifer Cheon. Photo courtesy of Brent Fulton; used with permission

CB: What stories do you have from filming “The 100?”

JC: I am so grateful to the CW they given me some amazing opportunities to be on some of their amazing shows. ”The 100” was one of my favorite shows to work on. I got to flex my muscles and do some stunts, got to wear some of the amazing costumes, hair and make-up was spectacular! It really help me become the warrior, cold blooded, bas ass bitch (can I say that?) that was Dakiva. The cast on “The 100” are so unbelievably talented. They were so welcoming and all were so generous in front as well as behind the camera. Every take we did you could feel that energy from all the actors, which just helps you and your character give more.

 

CB: Tell your fans about any projects that you have in the works?

JC: I am really excited to get back to work on a web series called “The Drive.” I play a character named Gina. She is a lot different from the characters I have played on “Supernatural,” “The 100,” “Arrow,” “Minority Report.” I usually play very fierce warrior type woman. But Gina is still fierce but in a more subtle, ”normal” way. She is a young woman just trying to keep it together; very relatable. I hope all of you check it out! I also have a film coming out later this year called “The Layover.” It was directed by one of my favorite people in the world, William H. Macy. Super excited to see it!

 

CB: What inspired you to become an actress?

JC: Well when I was a little girl I was always running around my house dressed up like whichever characters I saw on the TV so my family new before I did that I wanted to become an actor. But it wasn’t till I saw “Terminator 2” that I thought to myself I want to be a bad ass. I remember watching a behind the scenes look at the making of that movie and wanting to be a part of that environment. I was bullied a lot in school, and the movies and TV shows where my friends; my escape. So hopefully one day I can do the same for someone else, and keep them company through the roles I do.

 

CB: What do you like to do in your spare time?

JC: I love working so if it was up to me I would be on set all day every day. But when I do have time off, I love to travel, box, do yoga, and dance. I am really into fashion and design; going to galleries. I want to get into directing this year too. But my favorite thing to do is to go back to my parents’ farm. I take one of my nephews Noah (he is my bestie) so when I get some time, I hang out with him at the farm. I’m a huge outdoors person.

Leave a Reply

