Interview with ‘CANDiLAND’ star James Clayton

james-clayton
Actor James Clayton, Photo credit to Kevin Clark Photography

 

James Clayton is the co-founder of Motorcycle Boy Productions, and is the actor, producer, and creative genius behind the hot new thriller film CANDiLAND” available out on DVD and Blu-Ray Feb. 7, 2017. Due out soon are more of Clayton’s anticipated projects “Residue,” and “Genesis Code.” He just played Colonel Theodore Roosevelt on “Timeless,” and is also known for his spots on “Supernatural,” “Fringe,” and “Minority Report.” Get to know this talent as Clayton took some time out of his busy schedule to chat.

1486060667845
James Clayton and Gary Busey in “CANDiLAND.” Stills courtesy of CANDiLAND Film

Colleen Bement: “CANDiLAND” is getting some fabulous reviews and from the preview, it looks incredibly creative, twisted, and a thrill ride. Please share all about creating this gem.

James Clayton: Thanks for the compliment. “CANDiLAND” is a passion project of Rusty Nixon’s and mine for about 14 years now. Rusty adapted it to the screen from the potent novel written by Elizabeth Engstrom. When I first read the script I knew I had to be a part of the film because of how intense the emotional and physical journey was for all the characters. It’s highly disturbing how they deteriorate and it all could happen in real life. The filming process crossed some lines between fiction and reality as I lost a lot of weight to fully commit to the role. We went on the journey with these characters, and I think it paid off. Audiences have commented the film is an experience that lingers with you for days after. I know I still sweat a bit every time I watch it and I’m in the film!

candiland-still_4
Chelah Horsdal and James Clayton in “CANDiLAND.” Stills courtesy of CANDiLAND Film

CB: You played Colonel Theodore Roosevelt in episode 11 of “Timeless.” That is such a cool show. Tell your fans all about that experience.

JC: “Timeless” is a very cool show. The cast and crew are some of the most welcoming I’ve been around and when you walk on set. It’s literally like being in another world. Everyone is giving 110% and it shows. I spent most of my time with series regular Chad Rook. Not only is he great in the show but an awesome guy off screen.

 

It was an extreme privilege to play Colonel Roosevelt. Until they shaved my beard into Roosevelt’s famous mustache, I had no idea how much I looked like him. It was also very informative to research the colonel. He was an inspiring individual with his no-nonsense politics, indomitable spirit, a true American legend. Very rare you get to step into the shoes of someone with that much integrity. I usually play anti-heroes!

CB: My “Supernatural” readers would just love to hear all about your role as a bartender in the season five episode ‘Swap Meat.” What can you share about that experience?

JC: I was lucky enough to act with Jared Padalecki. I had no idea until I met him that he possesses the stature of John Wayne which can be quite intimidating. But he’s very cool and relaxed on set. He was so good he didn’t need to prep his character. He just knew it. They’d call action; he’d nail it, be hilarious, and call it a day. Did I mention he’s super nice too?

 

CB: I’ve heard some amazing things about your upcoming film “Residue” from a couple of actors I’ve chatted with recently. Tell me more about this project, and is there going to be a sequel?

JC: I absolutely love “Residue.” It’s being released June 2017 by XLrator Media and IndustryWorks Pictures and was produced by Motorcycle Boy Productions; a company Rusty Nixon, Blaine Anderson, and myself co-founded. “Residue” is a neo-noir, action/horror written/ directed by Rusty Nixon and stars myself, Taylor Hickson, Matt Frewer, Elysia Rotaru, Dan Payne, Blaine Anderson, Alika Autran, Costas Mandylor, and William B. Davis. I play a private investigator named Luke Harding who reads a demonic book that unleashes demons into his apartment. I saw the final print of the film last December and it’s a lot of fun to watch. The cast and crew were amazing to work with and the world Rusty created has a slick 80’s vibe.

The film definitely leaves the door open for a sequel. There are a couple ideas in the works but nothing I can officially announce. If the audience reacts to the film the way I hope they do, I think Rusty, Blaine, and I would make a sequel in a New York minute.

 

CB: Let’s get to know you a little better. What do you do with your limited spare time?

JC: I don’t have a lot of spare time these days. Most of my days are spent running Motorcycle Boy Productions. We have a quite an expansive year of productions coming up. I’m a newlywed as well so the small amount of off time I have I spend with my wife. We’re horror movie lovers and have quite the DVD/Blu-ray collection. I drink lots of coffee too. Black Americano is probably the best thing in the world.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

