Exclusive interview with ‘Supernatural’ guest actress Miranda Edwards

Welcome to the “Supernatural Family” Miranda Edwards. This talented actress has a guest role in the upcoming “Supernatural” episode called ‘Lily Sunder Has Some Regrets,’ and Denver Nerd Alert News grabbed some time with her. Out of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Edwards is an actress and director who is known for her roles in “Orphan Black,” “Mean Girls,” and “Why I Wore Lipstick to My Mastectomy.” Get to know Miranda.

Colleen Bement: You will appear on the February 2nd episode of “Supernatural” called ‘Lily Sunder Has Some Regrets.’ My readers would just love to hear all about your experience.

Miranda Edwards: I had such a great time on this show. The team was immediately welcoming and I felt totally comfortable to dive in and play from the start. I got to do some pretty cool stuff and to push myself a bit. This was unlike any other character I’ve played before and I love being able to say that with gigs. It means I get to be challenged and surprised by stuff. Fun for me and hopefully for the audience as well.

miranda-edwards
Actress Miranda Edwards. Photo courtesy of Kristine Cofsky Photography, used with permission.

CB: “The Magicians” is one of SyFy’s hottest shows right now and you will appear in the episode ‘The Flying Forest’ that airs February 15th. Tell your fans about it.
ME: One of the first things that struck me, working on this show, besides the gorgeous costumes, is the diverse cast. I love it! The show is quite fun to watch and makes me laugh and surprises me as an audience member and I think it’s due, in part to the wonderfully collaborative nature of it. People just go and have fun, so lovely to be a part of.

CB: You played Roxie in “Orphan Black.” That is seriously one of the most creative shows on TV. What can you share about your experiences on the set and being involved in this show?

ME: Well, the first scene I shot on this show involved me having a makeout session over a freshly dug grave, so that set a tone for me with this character. Shooting a scene with multiple clones in it was pretty amazing, I think the most clones I worked with in a scene was two, it still blew me away. That technology is no joke. Tatiana seriously brought it every time, great to work with. I had a fabulous time!

CB: How did you catch the acting bug? Did you start out as an actor or model?
ME: My sisters would argue I caught the bug somewhere around age three when I started fake crying in the mirror. It’s debatable.

CB: I’m just curious, are there any social causes that are close to your heart?

 
ME: Look at the quality of the stories we’re telling on TV right now. In the last little while I’ve been seen for and booked roles originally written for men, where the women are dynamic and multifaceted, where people of color are increasingly at the center of the narrative. Barriers are being broken and stereotypes recently considered traditional and normal are falling by the wayside. I love that I get to be part of that social change.

Leave a Reply

